On course for Europe

The EU is realising its vision of a single internal electricity market, and APG is helping to create the foundation for this. We operate the cross-border electricity lines without which there could be no import or export of electricity. We also provide the marketplace that enables Austrian electricity traders and customers to access the European electricity market.

A strong power supply grid for a strong Europe

Since the end of the 1990s, the national electricity transmission networks across continental Europe have been converging to form a trans-European power grid. The European Network of Transmission System Operators for Electricity (ENTSOE-E) includes 36 countries and provides more than 500 million people with a secure and reliable power supply. 

Coordinating all of these international networks poses great challenges. The integrated European power grid also brings many advantages, however, including an enormous enhancement in energy security in Europe.

For example, if a major power plant or transmission line in the transmission system network fails, the subsequent supply gap can be quickly filled in a cooperative effort, thus mitigating the risk of a variation in frequency, a drop in voltage (brownout) or even a total power outage (blackout). The greater the share of fluctuating supply in the grid (e.g. from wind farms), the more important it is to maintain a balanced grid and to safeguard grid operations via as many power plant units as possible.

The same rules for everyone

It is only possible to run a transmission system network when all of the participating system operators follow the same rules. That is why all TSOs in continental Europe have agreed on common norms and standards and signed a multilateral agreement (MLA) in which they undertake to comply with the “Operation Handbook” in which those norms and standards are laid out. Any violations of the rules are subject to high penalties.

Cross-border cooperation between TSOs

In 1999, ETSO (European Transmission System Operators) was created as an association merging the four existing TSO organisations in Europe (UCTE, NORDEL, ATSOI and UKTSOA) with the goal of better managing the new challenges arising from the open market.

In July 2009, all of the above organisations were integrated into ENTSO-E (European Network of Transmission System Operators for Electricity) as the new umbrella organisation. UCTE continues to exist as the Regional Group Continental Europe, and remains the contact entity when any cross-regional coordination issues arise. APG also maintains close relationships with neighbouring TSOs in Germany, Italy, Switzerland, Slovenia, Slovakia, Poland, the Czech Republic, Hungary and Croatia.

Transmission System Operator Security Cooperation

TSO Security Cooperation (TSC) is an association of eleven European transmission system operators. Its stated goal is to further increase the security of electricity transmission networks in Central Europe and thus secure the supply of electricity for 170 million Europeans over the long term.

TSC enables the TSOs to coordinate their work more closely among each other.

The TSC

  • is an initiative aimed at improving the security of Europe’s power grid;
  • is the perfect supplement to other international initiatives and cooperation centres;
  • represents an important step in securing the overall European power grid, and is open to additional TSOs as members;
  • develops and implements new multilateral processes, which allows it to maintain high standards for the security of its members’ plants; and
  • helps TSOs to better manage their expanding operations, particularly with respect to the integration of wind power and the settlement of cross-border electricity trading and transport operations, which are on the rise.

alt=''

alt=''

 

More information on TSC is available in the TSC road movie: TSC - The Road Movie

APG-Europa-Imagebild_750x500
Auf Kurs Europa

Europa verwirklicht einen gemeinsamen Strombinnenmarkt - APG schafft die Grundlagen dafür. Wir betreiben die grenzüberschreitenden Stromleitungen, die Stromimporte und -exporte erst ermöglichen. Und wir schaffen den Marktplatz, der den österreichischen Stromhändlern und Stromkunden den Zugang zum europäischen Strommarkt sichert.

Ein starkes Stromversorgungsnetz für ein starkes Europa

Seit Ende der 1990er Jahre ist aus den verschiedenen nationalen Stromtransportnetzen ein kontinentaleuropäisches Stromnetz gewachsen. Der sogenannte Netzverbund besteht aus 36 nationalen Netzen und versorgt über 500 Millionen Menschen sicher und zuverlässig mit Strom. 

Internationale Koordination und Steuerung im Netzverbund bedeuten große Herausforderungen. Allerdings bringt das europaweit verbundene Netz viele Vorteile – insbesondere eine enorme Erhöhung der Versorgungssicherheit in Europa.

So kann im Netzverbund etwa bei Ausfällen von größeren Kraftwerken oder Leitungssystemen die dabei auftretende Erzeugungslücke und damit die Gefahr eines Spannungs- oder Frequenzabfalls bzw. eines Totalausfalls der Stromversorgung ("Blackout"), von der Gesamtheit aller Kraftwerke in Europa abgemildert und gemeinsam rasch wieder kompensiert werden. Je mehr stark schwankende Erzeugung im Netz besteht (z. B. Windkraftwerke), desto wichtiger ist diese Ausgleichsfunktion des Netzes und die Absicherung durch möglichst viele Kraftwerkseinheiten.

Alle befolgen dieselben Regeln

Die Führung eines Netzverbunds ist nur möglich, wenn alle daran beteiligten Netzbetreiber gemeinsam erarbeitete einheitliche Regeln befolgen. Deshalb haben sich alle Netzbetreiber in Kontinentaleuropa auf gemeinsame Normen und Regeln geeinigt, die im sogenannten "Operation Handbook" festgeschrieben sind und über einen multilateralen Vertrag zwischen den beteiligten Netzbetreibern (MLA = Multilateral Agreement) verpflichtend abgesichert wurden. Verstöße gegen diese Regeln ziehen hohe Strafen nach sich.

Grenzüberschreitende Kooperationen der Netzbetreiber

Zur besseren Bewältigung der aus der Marktöffnung erwachsenden neuen Herausforderungen wurde im Jahr 1999 die ETSO (European Transmission System Operators) als Zusammenschluss der vier bereits bestehenden Netzbetreiber-Organisationen (UCTE, NORDEL, ATSOI und UKTSOA) in Europa gegründet.

Im Juli 2009 wurden alle diese Organisationen in die neue Dachorganisation ENTSO-E (European Network of Transmission System Operators for Electricity) integriert. Die UCTE besteht weiterhin als "Regional Group Continental Europe" und bleibt der Ansprechpartner für die Behandlung aller länderübergreifenden Koordinierungsfragen in Kontinentaleuropa. Darüber hinaus unterhält APG enge Beziehungen zu den benachbarten Netzbetreibern in Deutschland, Italien, der Schweiz, Slowenien, der Slowakei, Polen, Tschechien, Ungarn und Kroatien.

Transmission System Operator Security Cooperation

Die “TSO Security Cooperation” (TSC) ist eine Kooperation von elf europäischen Übertragungsnetzbetreibern. Sie hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, die Sicherheit in den Stromtransportnetzen in Zentraleuropa weiter zu erhöhen und damit die Stromversorgung von 170 Millionen Europäern nachhaltig abzusichern.

TSC ermöglicht den Netzbetreibern, ihre Arbeit enger untereinander abzustimmen.

Die TSC

  • ist eine Initiative zur Verbesserung der Sicherheit des Stromnetzes in Europa.

  • ist die perfekte Ergänzung zu anderen internationalen Initiativen und Kooperationszentren.

  • stellt einen wichtigen Schritt für die Sicherung des gesamten europäischen Stromnetzes dar und ist für die Aufnahme weiterer TSO als Mitglieder offen.

  • entwickelt und implementiert neue multilaterale Verfahren und Nachbesserungen und hält auf diese Weise einen hohen Sicherheitsstandard der Anlagen aufrecht.

  • hilft den TSO ihren expandierenden Betrieb besser zu verwalten, insbesondere hinsichtlich der Einbindung der Windenergie und der Abwicklung des zunehmenden grenzüberschreitenden Handels und Stromtransports.

Noch mehr Informationen zur Initiative TSC finden Sie im TSC Road Movie: TSC - The Road Movie

alt=''

alt=''