APG power grid
Power Grid

A strong electricity grid is the basis for a secure power supply. APG’s trans-regional transmission grid consists of nearly 7,000 power lines that supply Austria with electrical energy. The grid connects the power plants to Austrian homes and businesses to form a widespread supply network incorporating the distribution networks of the individual federal states.

Austrian Power Grid AG operates the largest supra-regional high- and ultra-high voltage grid in Austria with the voltage levels 110, 220 and 380 kV.
  • System length in km: 6,970 km
  • No. of pylons: approx. 12,000
  • Timetables / month for imports and exports: approx. 12,000

The flow of current in the electricity grid

01

Grid structure: the network levels

The power grid is made up of network levels comprising ultra-high, high, medium and low voltage levels. In APG’s trans-regional transmission grid, electricity is transported at the ultra-high voltage levels of 110, 220 and 380 kilovolts. Ultra-high voltage is necessary to enable electricity to be transmitted across great distances in the transmission grid. Electricity also flows at high and medium voltage levels in the nine regional distribution networks before continuing to the local low-voltage networks, where it comes out of the socket at 230 volts. The different network levels are connected via substations.

02

APG’s core task: maintaining the balance at 50 hertz

Around 75% of Austria’s electricity comes from renewable sources. Although hydropower has traditionally been the most important source of energy in Austria, wind and solar power have been heavily developed in recent years. The goal of the Austrian government’s new #mission2030 climate and energy strategy is for the country to be powered by renewables only by 2030.

Power generation is based on the principle that electricity supply must be matched precisely to electricity demand at all times. The measure of the balance between supply and demand is known as the grid frequency. To ensure an intact supply of electricity, the frequency of the grid must be maintained at exactly 50 hertz. The core task of APG is to keep the grid frequency at the 50-hertz level on a continuous basis.

03

Trans-regional electricity transport: APG connects wind farms in eastern Austria with pumped storage systems in western Austria

The structure of the electricity grid is similar to that of a road network. APG’s superordinate, trans-regional transmission network transports electricity from neighbouring countries to Austria and from Austria to its neighbours via all Austrian states. The subordinate distribution grids in the Austrian states are fed with electricity from the APG grid, which they then bring directly to the consumer. APG’s grid plays an absolutely crucial role in the transition to new forms of energy. It connects eastern Austria’s wind power plants and western Austria’s pumped storage power plants with Austrian consumers.

04

Substations: the hubs of the electricity supply system

To enable electricity to be used in homes and businesses, it first needs to be transformed, i.e. converted, to a lower voltage level. The voltage is converted at substations, of which APG operates a total of 63 across Austria. Transformers at the substations convert the voltage so that the electricity can continue on its way to the consumer. The switching stations located at the substations act as the hubs, or nodes, connecting the power lines by guiding the flow of energy. The APG grid, as the superordinate electricity transport network, is connected with all of Austria’s distribution networks.

A new transformator for a secure energy supply.
(Video in German only)

Helicopter dismounts a tower and rebuilds it.
(Video in German only)

APG Netz
Stromnetz

Ein starkes Stromnetz ist die Grundlage einer sicheren Stromversorgung. Das überregionale Übertragungsnetz der APG besteht aus knapp 7.000 km Stromleitungen, die Österreich mit elektrischer Energie versorgen. Sie verbinden die Kraftwerke mit den heimischen Verbraucherinnen und Verbrauchern und bilden zusammen mit den Verteilernetzen in den einzelnen Bundesländern ein weit verzweigtes Versorgungsnetz.

Die APG betreibt das österreichische Übertragungsnetz auf den Spannungsebenen 110-, 220- und 380-kV.
  • 3.500 km Trassen
  • 6.970 km Leitungen
  • 100.000 jährlich abgewickelte Stromfahrpläne

Stromkreislauf und das Stromnetz

01

Der Aufbau: Die Netzebenen

Das Stromnetz ist in Netzebenen gegliedert. Zu diesen Ebenen gehören die Höchst-, Hoch-, Mittel- und Niederspannungsebene. Im APG-Netz, dem überregionalen Übertragungsnetz, wird Strom auf der Höchstspannungsebene von 110, 220 und 380 Kilovolt transportiert. Höchstspannung im Übertragungsnetz ist nötig, um Strom möglichst verlustarm über weite Strecken transportieren zu können. Weiter fließt der Strom über die neun regionalen Verteilernetze in den Bundesländern auf der Hoch- und Mittelspannungsebene bis hin zu den lokalen Niederspannungsnetzen, wo er schließlich mit 230 Volt aus der Steckdose bezogen wird. Umspannwerke verbinden die unterschiedlichen Netzebenen miteinander.

02

Das 50 Hertz-Prinzip: Balance halten als Kernaufgabe der APG

Österreich produziert rund Dreiviertel seines Stroms aus erneuerbaren Energien. Die traditionell wichtigste Energiequelle hierzulande ist die Wasserkraft. In den vergangenen Jahren wurden auch Windkraft und Fotovoltaik sehr stark ausgebaut. Die österreichische Bundesregierung hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, bis zum Jahr 2030 Strom in dem Ausmaß zu erzeugen, dass der nationale Gesamtstromverbrauch zu 100 % (national bilanziell) aus erneuerbaren Energiequellen gedeckt ist.

Die Stromversorgung basiert auf dem Grundprinzip, dass Stromerzeugung und Stromverbrauch sich in jedem Augenblick exakt die Waage halten müssen. Die Maßzahl, die Ausdruck dieses Gleichgewichts ist, ist die Netzfrequenz. Sie muss genau 50 Hertz betragen - dann ist die Stromversorgung intakt. Die Kernaufgabe der APG ist es, die Netzfrequenz permanent auf diesem 50 Hertz Wert zu halten.

03

Überregionaler Stromtransport: APG verbindet Windkraftwerke im Osten mit den Pumpspeichern im Westen Österreichs

Das Stromnetz ist ähnlich aufgebaut, wie das Straßennetz. Das hochrangige Leitungsnetz der APG transportiert den Strom überregional über alle Bundesländer hinweg sowie aus dem benachbarten Ausland nach Österreich oder aus Österreich in seine Nachbarländer. Die unterlagerten Verteilernetze in den Bundesländern werden aus dem APG-Netz versorgt und bringen ihrerseits die elektrische Energie direkt zu jedem Verbraucher. Im Rahmen der Energiewende spielt das APG-Netz eine ganz wesentliche Rolle. Denn es verbindet die Windkraftwerke im Osten Österreichs mit den heimischen Verbrauchern und mit den Pumpspeicherkraftwerken im Westen des Landes.

04

Umspannwerke: Die Knotenpunkte im Stromversorgungssystem

Damit Strom in Haushalten und Betrieben genutzt werden kann, muss seine Spannung erst auf ein niedrigeres Niveau transformiert, der Strom also „umgespannt“ werden. Dies geschieht in sogenannten Umspannwerken, von denen die APG 63 in ganz Österreich betreibt. Dort wandeln Transformatoren die Spannung um, bevor der Strom in Richtung der Endverbraucher weitertransportiert werden kann. Die in den Umspannwerken untergebrachten Schaltanlagen sind dabei die Knotenpunkte zwischen den Leitungen. Sie dienen dem Lenken der Energieflüsse. Das APG-Netz ist als übergeordnetes Transportnetz über Umspannwerke mit allen österreichischen Verteilernetzen verbunden.

Auf der Donau vom Schwerlasthafen Linz nach Jochenstein ins Umspannwerk: ein neuer Trafo für eine sichere Stromversorgung.

Hubschrauber demontiert Strommast und baut ihn wieder auf.