alt=""

Safety as a GUIDING PRINCIPLE

The power grid operated by Austrian Power Grid AG is the backbone of Austria's electricity supply.

We have about 490 experts working around the clock to ensure that the grid can handle the load and the supply of electricity functions smoothly. These days, great effort and creative thinking are required to keep the power grid stable and ensure a constant supply of electricity.

A strong electricity grid is the basis for a secure power supply.

APG’s trans-regional transmission grid consists of nearly 7,000 power lines that supply the entire country with electrical energy. The grid connects the power plants to Austrian homes and businesses to form a widespread supply network incorporating the distribution networks of the individual federal states.

APG Power Grid
alt=""

Supplying electricity  a balancing act

The APG team is made up of 490 specialists working around the clock, 365 days a year, to make sure that Austria is supplied with electricity. Their core task is to maintain a constant balance between electricity supply and demand.


The Power Grid of Tomorrow

Continuing to expand the power grid is crucial to the success of the energy transition. APG’s investments in the grid are laying the foundation for the further development of renewable energy sources and for securing Austria as a business location over the long term.

alt=""

Since the end of the 1990s, national transmission networks across continental Europe have been converging to form a Trans-European power grid.

The European Network of Transmission System Operators for Electricity (ENTSOE-E) includes 36 countries and provides more than 500 million people with a secure and reliable power supply.

The network codes (sometimes adopted as network guidelines) issued by the European Commission comprise a comprehensive set of regulations governing the electricity market in the EU.

They define and harmonise numerous regulations in the areas of market integration (market and trading codes), grid system operation (system operation codes) and grid connection (connection codes) and thus create the basis for an efficient, integrated internal electricity market across Europe.


APG-STEUERZENTRALE_750x500

Hochspannungsleitung vor Bergen
Sicherheit in jeder Lage

Das Stromnetz der Austrian Power Grid AG ist das Rückgrat der österreichischen Stromversorgung.

Rund 490 Expertinnen und Experten sorgen rund um die Uhr dafür, dass die Stromversorgung reibungslos funktioniert. Aufgrund der massiven Veränderungen im Stromsystem bedarf es mittlerweile großer Anstrengungen, um die Stabilität des Stromnetzes und damit die sichere Versorgung aufrecht zu erhalten.

Ein starkes Stromnetz ist die Grundlage einer sicheren Stromversorgung.

Das überregionale Übertragungsnetz der APG besteht aus knapp 7.000 km Stromleitungen, die Österreich mit elektrischer Energie versorgen. Sie verbinden die Kraftwerke mit den heimischen Verbraucherinnen und Verbrauchern und bilden zusammen mit den Verteilernetzen in den einzelnen Bundesländern ein weit verzweigtes Versorgungsnetz.

APG-Netz
APG-Mitarbeiter

Balanceakt Stromversorgung

Rund 490 Spezialistinnen und Spezialisten sorgen an 365 Tagen und rund um die Uhr daf├╝r, dass die Stromversorgung des Landes funktioniert. Kernaufgabe dabei ist es, permanent die Balance zwischen Stromerzeugung und Stromverbrauch zu halten.

Das Stromnetz von morgen

Die Umsetzung der Energiewende hängt wesentlich von der Weiterentwicklung des Stromnetzes ab. Mit ihren Netzinvestitionen legt die APG den Grundstein für den weiteren Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien und für die nachhaltige Absicherung des Wirtschaftsstandorts Österreich.

alt=""
APG-Europa-Imagebild_750x500

Ein starkes Stromversorgungsnetz für ein starkes Europa.

Seit Ende der 1990er Jahre ist aus den verschiedenen nationalen Stromübertragungsnetzen ein kontinentaleuropäisches Stromnetz gewachsen. Der sogenannte Netzverbund besteht aus 36 nationalen Netzen und versorgt über 500 Millionen Menschen sicher und zuverlässig mit Strom.

Die Network Codes (Netzkodizes oder Leitlinien) der Europäischen Kommission stellen ein umfangreiches Regelwerk für die Elektrizitätswirtschaft dar.

Sie definieren und harmonisieren zahlreiche Regelungen in den Bereichen Marktintegration, Netzbetrieb und Netzanschluss und schaffen so die Grundlage für einen effizienten und europaweit integrierten Strombinnenmarkt.

alt=""