landscape with wind park

New APG-Weinviertel Line

With the replacement of the more than 70-year-old Weinviertel line APG ensures now and in the future an efficient grid connection and thus the security of supply in the region and in all of Lower Austria. The new line is the precondition for further integrating wind and solar energy and distributing this energy in the region and all over Austria. With its completion in the summer of 2022 the power line will provide an essential contribution to a successful energy transition and the electrification of the economy, industry and society.

Would you like to always be up to date about the project?

Sign up here!

The Weinviertel line is currently one of the largest and most important APG projects for Austria. This line will facilitate the feed-in of the increasing production of wind power in the Weinviertel region in APG’s trans-regional transmission grid, which is thus made available and usable all over Austria. APG invests approximately 200 million euros in the business and residential area of Lower Austria.

The security of supply in the region and of Lower Austria as a whole is sustainably improved with the new line. Through the continuing integration of wind and solar energy from the Weinviertel region it will also play an important role for achieving the goals defined in the Lower Austrian Climate and Energy Strategy 2030 as well as the Austrian climate and energy targets.

The existing APG power line in the Waldviertel region was already more than 70 years old and due to its long operating time in need of renovation. In addition, it was no longer suited to handle the challenges of the future. Therefore it was necessary to develop a new routing for the line which takes into account the geographical development on the production side: the new APG Weinviertel line will run as 380 kV line from Seyring to the substation Zaya, which is being newly built within the scope of the project. At the substation Zaya a new connection to the Lower Austrian 110 kV grid and a 220 kV connection to the Czech border are being established. Mid-2022 both, the new Weinviertel line and the substation Zaya are scheduled to go on line.

Timeline

Starting 2022
Scheduled start of operation of the APG Waldviertel line
Arrival of transformers at the substation Zaya
July 2021
Christening of transformer by the president of the Lower Austrian provincial parliament, Karl Wilfing
September 2019
Start of construction works for the power line
June 2019
Start of construction works for the substation Zaya
November 2018
08.11.2018
Hearing at the Austrian Federal Administrative Court (BVwG) and publication of the positive decision (final decision – the project is approved)
May 2018
Start of proceedings at the Austrian Federal Administrative Court (BVwG)
March-April 2018
March 1 - April 12, 2018
Decision on the Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) made available for public inspection at offices of all project communities and the Province of Lower Austria; period for opinions on this decision
February 20, 2018
APG Weinviertel line is approved by the provincial government of Lower Austria
September 2017
September 14 - September 18, 2017
Public hearing at the Historism Hall (Reichensteinhof - 2170 Poysdorf, Liechtensteinstraße 1)
June 27 - August 25, 2017

Expert opinion on the environmental impact Assessment made available for public inspection at offices of all project communities; period for comments on this expert opinion

January-March 2017
January 18 - March 8, 2017

Project documents made available for public inspection at offices of all project communities; period for comments on the project

September 2016
06.09.2016

Submission of the project documents (application for building permit, project description and environmental impact statement) to the authorities of the provincial government of Lower Austria for starting the Environmental Impact Assessment

SPRING 2015-SUMMER 2016
Planning period; compilation of project documents and environmental impact statement
Investment Volume
  • Approx. 200 million euros overall investment volume (Weinviertel line + substation Zaya)
  • In 2021 APG invests approx. 375 million euros in the Austrian grid infrastructure, until 2031 3.5 billion euros.
Facilitation of energy transition and electrification of society, economy and industry
  • With its completion mid-2022 the Weinviertel line will provide a considerable contribution to facilitating a secure and sustainable energy supply of the region and all of Austria.
  • It will facilitate the feed-in of wind and solar power from the Weinviertel region in the trans-regional grid of APG, thus making it available and usable all over Austria.
  • In the next decade many aspects of our life will depend on electricity. In particular, production processes in business and industry that to date have been powered with fossil fuels will converted and become electricity-based processes. The availability of enough electricity for Lower Austria is ensured by the new capacities of the Weinviertel line.
Boost for the national economy
  • In addition to improving the security of supply and facilitating the electrification of the economy, industry and society, the construction of the new Weinviertel line launches a whole value-added chain.
  • The 200 million investment will generate an added value of 132 million euros for Austria, with a share of 31 million euros for Lower Austria.
  • In total 2,100 jobs are created through the project, 600 of which in Lower Austria alone.
Line length
  • The new APG Weinviertel line will comprise 202 pylons and a total length of 63 km.
  • This is 53 pylons & 15 km line length less than the old.
Start of operation
Mid-2022 both, the new Weinviertel line and the substation Zaya are scheduled to go on line.
Line routing
The new APG Weinviertel line will run as 380 kV line from Seyring to the substation Zaya, which is being newly built within the scope of the project. At the substation Zaya a new connection to the Lower Austrian 110 kV grid and a 220 kV connection to the Czech border are being established.

With huge steps the construction works of the new Weinviertel line are approaching the finishing line.

“In project unit 1 and 3 all pylons have already been successfully assembled. In project unit 2 the final assembly works will be completed in the next few weeks”, confirms project manager Andreas Pischel. With the section method a pylon is assembled vertically by erecting the bottom section and then lifting and bolting the next section on the first aso. Overall the Weinviertel line will comprise 202 pylons, each of which with a height of approx. 60 meters.

Also the wire stringing works are well under way. This means that the transmission cables are being pulled into position along the route with a cable winch puller. Wherever possible and expedient the auxiliary rope – which is used to pull the actual cable wire through the winch – is being lifted up to the top of the pylon with a helicopter. This is faster and protects the ground along the transmission line route.

Once the Weinviertel line can go on line mid-2022, dismantlement of the pylons of the old Weinviertel line will start. In comparison with the existing line the new line will need 53 pylons and 15 km line less. With the construction of the new Weinviertel line APG invests approximately 200 million euros in the secure and sustainable energy future of Lower Austria and Austria as a whole. This investment will not only create necessary capacities in the power industry but also launch a value-added chain of 132 million euros for Austria, with a share of 31 million euros for Lower Austria.

Transformers are the heart of each substation. They convert the voltage of APG’s high-voltage grid to the voltages of the regional distribution system operators and vice versa.

Mid-May 2021 the first transformer arrived at its new place of work. Like its colleagues – which were delivered in June and September, respectively – the 300-ton colossus had to travel quite a long way: first, from the Siemens plant in Weiz by train to Hohenau an der March. There it had to be lifted with a special lift frame on a heavy-load vehicle which took it right to its foundations at the substation Zaya, a journey that took several days.

A transformer called "Carlo"

In July 2021 an old tradition was revived at the substation Neusiedl a. d. Zaya: the christening of the transformer. The president of the Lower Austrian provincial parliament, Karl Wilfing, took on the godparenthood. In the presence of APG’s CTO, Gerhard Christiner, the supervisory chairpersons of EVN, Stefan Szyszkowitz and Franz Mittermayer, Mayor Andreas Keller, the Captain of the fire brigade, OBI Roman Stur, and various media representatives he named the approximately 300-ton transformer “Carlo”, according to his own nickname.

“Like I am fired up to support the positive development of our country, the new transformer ‘Carlo’ will be fired up to contribute to a successful energy transition and a secure and sustainable energy supply. Therefore I am very pleased to take on the godparenthood for the 300-ton giant ‘Carlos’. It is part of the Lower Austrian Climate and Energy Strategy and shows how important it is to translate set goals into action”, states the president of the Lower Austrian provincial parliament, Karl Wilfing, happily.

Contact

Windräder und Stromleitungen
Ersatzneubau APG-Weinviertelleitung

Mit dem Ersatzneubau der über 70 Jahre alten Weinviertelleitung sichert APG jetzt und in Zukunft eine nachhaltige Netzanbindung, und damit die sichere Stromversorgung in Ihrer Region und ganz Niederösterreich. Die neue Leitung ist Voraussetzung für die weitere Integration sowie die regionale und österreichweite Verteilung von Wind- und Sonnenenergie. Mit ihrer Fertigstellung im Sommer 2022 trägt sie wesentlich für das Gelingen der Energiewende sowie die Elektrifizierung von Wirtschaft, Industrie und Gesellschaft bei.

Sie möchten über das Projekt am Laufenden bleiben?

Jetzt anmelden!

Die Weinviertelleitung ist momentan eines der größten und wichtigsten Projekte der APG für Österreich. Mit ihr wird die zunehmende Windkraft aus dem Weinviertel ins überregionale Netz der APG gespeist und österreichweit nutzbar gemacht. APG investiert dafür rund 200 Millionen Euro in den Wirtschafts- und Lebensraum Niederösterreich.

Die sichere Stromversorgung in Ihrer Region und ganz Niederösterreich wird durch die neue Leitung nachhaltig erhöht. Durch die weitere Integration der Weinviertler Wind- und Sonnenenergie, leistet sie auch einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Erreichung der Ziele des niederösterreichischen Klima- und Energieplans 2030 sowie der österreichischen Klima- und Energieziele.

Die Bestandsleitung war aufgrund der langen Betriebsdauer sanierungsbedürftig und die Trasse für zukünftige Anforderungen nicht mehr optimal. Daher war es notwendig, eine neue Trassenführung zu entwickeln, welche die geografische Entwicklung der Erzeugungsseite entsprechend berücksichtigt: Die neue APG-Weinviertelleitung wird künftig ab Seyring als 380-kV-Leitung bis zum Umspannwerk Zaya geführt, welches im Zuge des Projekts neu errichtet wird. Im Umspannwerk Zaya erfolgt eine neue Anbindung an das niederösterreichische 110-kV-Netz sowie eine 220-kV-Verbindung zur tschechischen Staatsgrenze. Mitte 2022 wird die neue Weinviertelleitung und auch das Umspannwerk Zaya ans Netz gehen.

Zeitplan

Sommer 2022
Geplante Inbetriebnahme der APG-Weinviertelleitung
Mai - September 2021
Anlieferung der Transformatoren im UW Zaya
Juli 2021
Trafotaufe durch Präsident des NÖ Landtags Karl Wilfing
September 2019
Baubeginn für die Leitungsanlage

Juni 2019 

Baubeginn für das Umspannwerk Zaya
08.11.2018
Mündliche Verhandlung am BVwG und Verkündigung der positiven Erkenntnis (Projekt ist rechtskräftig)
Mai 2018
Start des Verfahrens beim Bundesverwaltungsgericht (BvWG)
01.03. - 12.04.2018
Auflage des UVP-Bescheids zur öffentlichen Einsichtnahme in allen Projektgemeinden und beim Land NÖ; Frist für die Abgabe von Stellungnahmen zum Bescheid
20.02.2018
APG-Weinviertelleitung wird von der NÖ-Landesregierung positiv genehmigt
14.09. - 18.09.2017
Öffentliche mündliche Verhandlung im Historismussaal (Reichensteinhof - 2170 Poysdorf, Liechtensteinstraße 1)
27.06. - 25.08.2017
Auflage des Umweltverträglichkeits-Gutachtens zur öffentlichen Einsichtnahme in allen Projektgemeinden; Frist für die Abgabe von Stellungnahmen zum Gutachten
18.01. - 08.03.2017
Auflage der Projektunterlagen zur öffentlichen Einsichtnahme in allen Projektgemeinden; Frist für die Abgabe von Stellungnahmen zum Projekt
06.09.2016
Einreichung der Projektunterlagen (Genehmigungsantrag, Vorhabensbeschreibung und Umweltverträglichkeitserklärung) zum Verfahren der Umweltverträglichkeitsprüfung beim Land Niederösterreich
2015 - 2016
Planung und Erstellung der Projektunterlagen sowie der Umweltverträglichkeitserklärung
Investitionvolumen
  • rund 200 Millionen Euro Gesamtinvestition (Leitung + Umspannwerk Zaya)
  • APG investiert im Jahr 2021 rund 357 Millionen Euro in die heimische Strominfrastruktur, bis 2031 sogar 3,5 Milliarden Euro.
Ermöglichen der Energiewende und Elektrifizierung von Gesellschaft Wirtschaft und Industrie
  • Mit Fertigstellung Mitte 2022 trägt die Weinviertelleitung wesentlich zu einer sicheren und nachhaltigen Stromversorgung in Ihrer Region und ganz Österreich bei.
  • Mit ihr wird die Weinviertler Wind- und Sonnenenergie ins überregionale Netz der APG gespeist und somit österreichweit nutzbar gemacht.
  • Im nächsten Jahrzehnt werden viele Teile unseres Lebens mit elektrischer Energie versorgt. Insbesondere werden in Zukunft fossilbasierte Produktionsprozesse in Wirtschaft und Industrie auf strombasierte Prozesse umgestellt. Die Verfügbarkeit dafür wird durch die neuen Kapazitäten der Weinviertelleitung für Niederösterreich sichergestellt.
Boost für die heimische Wirtschaft
  • Neben der Erhöhung der sicheren Stromversorgung und dem Ermöglichen der Elektrifizierung von Wirtschaft, Industrie und Gesellschaft, setzt die Weinviertelleitung auch eine Wertschöpfungskette in Gang.
  • Die Investition der rund 200 Millionen Euro bringt für Österreich eine Wertschöpfung von rund 132 Millionen Euro, davon 31 Millionen Euro in Niederösterreich.
  • Insgesamt werden durch das Projekt 2.100 Arbeitsplätze geschaffen, davon 600 Arbeitsplätze alleine in Niederösterreich.
Trassenverlauf
  • Die neue Weinviertelleitung wird künftig ab Seyring als 380-kV-Leitung bis zum Umspannwerk Zaya geführt, welches im Zuge des Projekts neu errichtet wird. Im Umspannwerk Zaya erfolgt eine neue Anbindung an das niederösterreichische 110-kV-Netz sowie eine 220-kV-Verbindung zur tschechischen Staatsgrenze.
Leitungslänge
  • Die Weinviertelleitung besteht aus 202 Masten und hat eine Gesamtlänge von 63 Kilometern.
  • Gegenüber der Bestandsleitung werden 53 Masten & 15 km Leitung eingespart.
Inbetriebnahme
  • Mitte 2022 geht die neue Wienviertelleitung und das Umspannwerk Zaya in Betrieb.

Mit riesen Schritten nähert sich der Bau der Weinviertelleitung der Zielgerade.

„In Baulos 1 und 3 sind bereits alle Maststockungen erfolgreich über die Bühne gegangen. Bei Baulos 2 werden die letzten Maststockungen in den kommenden Wochen abgeschlossen“, bestätigt Projektleiter Andreas Pischel. Eine Maststockung bezeichnet den Bau eines Strommasten bei dem ein Stockwerk, ein sogenannter Schuss, auf das nächste gestellt wird. Insgesamt wird die Weinviertelleitung aus 202 Masten bestehen, wobei jeder davon ca. 60 Meter hoch ist.

Mast-Drohne-APG-Maximilian-Lang
Seilzug-APG-Niklas-Stadler

Auch die Seilzugarbeiten sind voll im Gange. Dabei werden die Leitungsseile mittels einer Seilwinde entlang der Trasse eingezogen. Wo es möglich und sinnvoll ist wird das sogenannte Vorseil – mit dem das Leitungsseil dann über eine Seilwinde nachgezogen wird – mittels Hubschrauber zu den Masten geflogen. Das geht schneller und schont den Boden entlang der Trasse.

Sobald die Weinviertelleitung Mitte 2022 in Betrieb genommen wird, erfolgt der Startschuss für den Abbau der Masten der alten Weinviertelleitung. Die neue Leitung kommt gegenüber der Bestandsleitung mit 53 Masten und 15 Kilometer Leitung weniger aus. Mit dem Bau der neuen Weinviertelleitung investiert APG rund 200 Millionen Euro in die sichere und nachhaltige Stromzukunft Niederösterreichs und ganz Österreichs. Mit dieser Investition werden nicht nur notwendige energiewirtschaftliche Kapazitäten geschaffen, sondern auch eine Wertschöpfungskette für Österreich in der Höhe von 132 Millionen Euro, wovon 31 Millionen Euro auf Niederösterreich fallen, in Gang gesetzt.

Herzstück eines jeden Umspannwerks sind Transformatoren. Diese transformieren die Spannung von der Hochspannungsebene der APG auf die Spannungsebene der regionalen Verteilernetzbetreiber um und umgekehrt.

Mitte Mai 2021 kam der erste Transformator an seinem neuen Arbeitsplatz an. Wie seine Nachfolger – die dann im Juni und September geliefert wurden – nahm der rund 300 Tonnen schwere Koloss eine mehrtägige Reise auf sich. Der Weg führte vom Siemenswerk in Weiz per Bahn nach Hohenau an der March. Dort wurde er mit einem Hubgerüst auf einen Tieflader gehoben, der in dann als Sondertransport bis zu seinem Fundament in das UW Zaya geführt hat.

Ein Trafo Namens „Carlo“

Im Juli 2021 wurde im Umspannwerk Neusiedl a. d. Zaya eine alte Tradition wieder ins Leben gerufen – die Trafotaufe. Die Patenschaft übernahm dafür der Präsident des NÖ Landtags Karl Wilfing. Im Beisein des technischen Vorstands der APG Gerhard Christiner, den Vorstandsdirektoren der EVN Stefan Szyszkowitz und Franz Mittermayer, Bürgermeister Andreas Keller, Feuerwehrkommandant OBI Roman Stur sowie der Medien taufte er den rund 300 Tonnen schweren Trafo, gemäß seinem Spitznamen, auf den Namen „Carlo“.

„So wie ich für die positive Entwicklung unseres Landes unter Strom stehe, so wird der neue Trafo ‚Carlo‘ zum Gelingen der Energiewende und der nachhaltigen Absicherung der Stromversorgung unter Strom stehen. Daher freue ich mich, die Patenschaft für den 300 Tonnen schweren ‚Carlo‘, zu übernehmen. Er ist Teil des niederösterreichischen Klima- und Energiefahrplans und zeigt wie wichtig es ist von Zielsetzungen ins Tun zu kommen“, zeigte sich der Präsident des NÖ Landtages Karl Wilfing erfreut.

Ansprechpartner