Europe

Europe

Does power supply only work at a European level?

The integration of the electricity market, triggered by political decisions in the 1990s, gathered momentum from the 2000s onwards and made good progress. An important milestone for Austria in this process was what was known as “unbundling”, the separation of the power grid from the areas of electricity generation and electricity trading. Today, similar to telephone and Internet services, it is quite normal for customers to be able to choose their electricity provider anywhere in Europe. By law, there are independent operators of the large electricity transmission networks everywhere in the European member states that guarantee all European electricity suppliers non-discriminatory access to their networks.

Nowadays, power supply is only conceivable at a European level. In the years following World War II, an integrated European electricity supply system evolved over time. The central idea here was the insight at a relatively early stage that a European power grid connected across national borders provides great advantages. For example, it allows mutual assistance to be provided when a supply shortage arises in any European country. Austria benefited from this when Hurricane Emma hit in 2008, for instance. The larger a physically connected grid is, the more stable and resistant it is to any disruptions that arise.

Today Europe has one of the most reliable electricity supply systems in the world. Its pan-European integration is a key component. In addition, a secure, affordable power supply is an important location advantage for any modern economy in global competition: this strength must be safeguarded for the future.


Further Information

Common standards for maximum security of supply

The ENTSO-E has an important role to play in the implementation of the deregulation of the European electricity market. Over the past few years, it has arranged for dozens of working groups to flesh out uniform European standards for the operation of Europe’s power grids. At ENTSO-E level, generally binding rules for the players in the single European electricity market have been worked out in detail. These European standards are referred to as network codes. Ultimately, the ENTSO-E is concerned with maintaining and continuously improving the stability of the power grid and thus increasing security of supply.

TSO Security Cooperation (TSC) – international cooperation for greater grid security

Security is the overriding principle in the area of power supply. This is the reason transmission system operators are also investing heavily in grid security. One example of this is the TSC – a security cooperation of 15 transmission system operators from 12 European countries, including APG. Headquartered in Munich, the TSC works with its specialists on joint grid security analyses, capacity calculations, coordinated planning of necessary power line revisions and many other issues. The aim is to achieve closer coordination between the member transmission system operators in their day-to-day business and ultimately increase security of supply.

Joint network development planning

The European power grid must continue to develop in line with new requirements. The driving force behind recent developments is the European energy transition. Experience with the expansion of wind and solar power, particularly in Germany, has shown that the energy transition is only conceivable at a European level. This is because the expansion of renewables in one country has repercussions for the whole of Europe.

In order to create a shared vision of the developments in the energy industry throughout Europe and to base them on an overall planning of the power grid, the ENTSO-E draws up a ten-year network development plan (TYNDP) every two years. The national grid planning of all member TSOs flows into the TYNDP.

ENTSO-E - European Network of Transmission System Operators for Electricity

Forty-three transmission system operators (TSOs) in 36 countries are responsible for the secure supply of electricity in Europe to over 500 million people and thousands of companies. International cooperation is a key success factor in an integrated European electricity supply system. Headquartered in Brussels, the ENTSO-E represents the interests of its members vis-a-vis the European institutions and coordinates the European developments.

Web Links

 Website: Entso E - European Network of Transmission System Operators for Electricity

 Website: TSCNET - TSO Security Cooperation

europaEuropa

Europa

Funktioniert Stromversorgung nur europäisch?

Die Strommarktintegration, die durch die politischen Entscheidungen in den 1990er Jahren angestoßen wurde, hat ab den 2000er Jahren Fahrt aufgenommen und gute Fortschritte gemacht. Ein wichtiger Meilenstein für Österreich in diesem Prozess war das sogenannte Unbundling – also die Trennung des Stromnetzes von den Bereichen Stromerzeugung und Stromhandel. Heute ist es – analog zu Telefon- oder Internetdiensten – ganz normal, dass sich jeder Kunde auch seinen Stromanbieter überall in Europa aussuchen kann. In den europäischen Mitgliedsstaaten gibt es laut Gesetz überall unabhängige Betreiber der großen Stromtransportnetze, die allen europäischen Stromanbietern den Zugang zu ihrem Netz diskriminierungsfrei garantieren.

Stromversorgung ist heute nur europäisch denkbar.

In den Nachkriegsjahren ab dem zweiten Weltkrieg ist ein europäisch vernetztes Stromversorgungssystem historisch gewachsen. Leitgedanke dabei war relativ früh die Einsicht, dass ein über Ländergrenzen hinweg verbundenes europäisches Stromnetz große Vorteile bietet. Es ermöglicht zum Beispiel die gegenseitige Aushilfe, wenn in einem Land Europas ein Versorgungsmangel auftritt. Österreich hat etwa beim Orkansturm Emma 2008 davon profitiert. Je größer ein physisch zusammenhängendes Netzgebiet ist, desto stabiler und resistenter ist es somit auch bei auftretenden Störungen. Die europäische Strommarktintegration ist mittlerweile schon weit fortgeschritten und der internationale Stromhandel hat massiv an Bedeutung gewonnen.

Europa hat heute eines der weltweit zuverlässigsten Stromversorgungssysteme.

Eine wichtige Komponente dabei ist seine europäische Vernetzung. Und eine sichere und leistbare Stromversorgung ist ein wichtiger Standortvorteil für jede moderne Volkswirtschaft im globalen Wettbewerb: Diese Stärke gilt es für die Zukunft abzusichern.


Vertiefende Informationen

Gemeinsame Standards für maximale Versorgungssicherheit

Die ENTSO-E spielt eine wichtige Rolle in der Umsetzung der europäischen Strommarktliberalisierung. Über die vergangenen Jahre organisierte der Verband in dutzenden Arbeitsgruppen die konkrete Ausgestaltung europaweit einheitlicher Standards für den Betrieb der europäischen Stromnetze. Auf ENTSO-E Ebene wurden allgemein verbindliche Spielregeln für die Akteure am gemeinsamen europäischen Strombinnenmarkt im Detail ausgearbeitet. Diese europäischen Standards werden unter dem Begriff Network Codes gefasst. Letzten Endes geht es der ENTSO-E um die Aufrechterhaltung und laufende Verbesserung der Stromnetzstabilität und damit um die Erhöhung der Versorgungssicherheit.

Gemeinsamer Netzentwicklungsplanung

Das europäische Stromnetz muss sich entlang neuer Anforderungen laufend weiterentwickeln. Der Treiber der aktuellen Entwicklung ist die europäische Energiewende. Die Erfahrungen mit dem Ausbau von Windkraft und Photovoltaik vor allem in Deutschland hat gezeigt, dass die Energiewende nur europäisch denkbar ist. Denn der Erneuerbaren-Ausbau in einem Land hat Auswirkungen auf ganz Europa.

Um eine gemeinsame Sicht der energiewirtschaftlichen Entwicklungen in ganz Europa zu haben und sie einer gesamthaften Planung des Stromnetzes zugrunde zu legen, erstellt die ENTSO-E alle zwei Jahre einen 10-Jahres-Netzentwicklungsplan (TYNDP). In den TYNDP fließen die nationalen Netzplanungen aller Mitglieds-TSOs mit ein.

TSO Security Cooperation (TSC) – internationale Zusammenarbeit für mehr Netzsicherheit

Sicherheit ist im Bereich der Stromversorgung oberstes Prinzip. Daher investieren die Übertragungsnetzbetreiber auch sehr viel in die Sicherheit der Netze. Ein Beleg dafür ist das TSC – eine Sicherheitskooperation von 15 Übertragungsnetzbetreibern aus 12 europäischen Ländern, darunter auch die APG. Das TSC mit Sitz in München arbeitet mit ihren Spezialistinnen und Spezialisten an gemeinsamen Netzsicherheitsanalysen, Kapazitätsberechnungen, einer koordinierten Planung notwendiger Stromleitungsrevisionen und vielen weiteren Fragen. Ziel ist eine engere Abstimmung zwischen den Mitglieds-Übertragungsnetzbetreibern in ihrem Alltagsgeschäft und damit letztlich eine Erhöhung der Versorgungssicherheit.

ENTSO-E – Vereinigung europäischer Übertragungsnetzbetreiber

43 Übertragungsnetzbetreiber (TSOs) in 36 Ländern tragen in Europa die Verantwortung für die sichere Stromversorgung von über 500 Mio. Menschen und tausenden von Unternehmen. In einem europäisch vernetzten Stromversorgungssystem ist internationale Kooperation ein zentraler Erfolgsfaktor. Der Verband (ENTSO-E) mit Sitz in Brüssel nimmt die Interessen seiner Mitglieder gegenüber den europäischen Institutionen wahr und koordiniert die europäischen Entwicklungen.

Weiterführende Web-Links

 Website der Entso-E (Verband Europäischer Übertragungsnetzbetreiber)

 Website der TSCNET - TSO Security Cooperation