Power plants

Generation schedule

The term “generation schedule” is used in the energy industry to describe – simply put – the sequence of operations at a power plant, i.e. the timetable for planned generation. Schedules are particularly important for optimising power plant operation, because for profitable operation many influencing factors need to be taken into account on an ongoing basis: 

  • current market prices for the various electricity products
  • current market prices for fuels used in thermal power plants (gas, coal, oil)
  • current market prices for CO2 emission rights
  • technical parameters (minimum load, maximum ramp-up/ramp-down time, ramp-up costs, etc.)
  • contractual obligations (e.g. supplier contracts)
  • district heating supply

Long-term optimisations in a generation schedule are calculated on the basis of futures market prices in order to hedge the income generated by the power plant over the long term. Power plants can also generate income from the volatility of the futures market by adapting planned outputs to take advantage of current conditions. The actual output of the power plant is determined by short-term optimisation calculations based on the spot or intraday prices shortly before delivery. If the power plant participates in the balancing services market, optimisation calculations are also used to select the best bid.

However, optimisation of an individual power plant or an entire power plant fleet does not automatically ensure the security of supply of an energy transmission system. To ensure security of supply at all times, it is necessary to take grid system operation measures or to intervene in the market so as to eliminate grid congestion, supply-demand imbalances or other system operation issues. The aforementioned mechanisms also include redispatch measures (interventions to adjust the power in-feed from plants to the requirements of the transmission system operator) in order to avoid or eliminate grid congestion and thus ensure stable system operation.

kraftwerke_darkKraftwerke

Kraftwerks-Fahrplan

Als Kraftwerks-Fahrplan bezeichnet man in der Energiewirtschaft vereinfacht den zeitlichen Ablauf bzw. den Stundenplan der geplanten Erzeugung eines Kraftwerkes. Fahrpläne sind besonders für eine Kraftwerkseinsatzoptimierung wichtig, denn eine wirtschaftliche Fahrweise hat eine Vielzahl an Einflussfaktoren, die laufend berücksichtigt werden müssen: 

  • aktuelle Marktpreise für die unterschiedlichen Stromprodukte
  • aktuelle Marktpreise für Brennstoffe bei thermischen Kraftwerken (Gas, Kohle, Öl)
  • aktuelle Marktpreise für CO2-Zertifikate
  • technische Parameter (Minimallast, max. An- und Abfahrrampen, Anfahrkosten, etc…)
  • vertragliche Verpflichtungen (z.B. Lieferverträge)
  • Fernwärmeversorgung

Langfristige Optimierungen im Fahrplan eines Kraftwerkes werden auf Basis von Terminmarktpreisen berechnet, um den Ertrag eines Kraftwerkes langfristig abzusichern. Zusätzlich kann das Kraftwerk aus der Volatilität des Terminmarktes Erträge erzielen, indem die geplante Erzeugung vorteilhaft nach den aktuellen Rahmenbedingungen angepasst wird.  Der tatsächliche Einsatz eines Kraftwerks wird dann aus kurzfristigen Optimierungsrechnungen auf Basis der Spot- oder Intradaypreise kurz vor Lieferung bestimmt. Nimmt das Kraftwerk am Regelreservemarkt teil, so bestimmen sich auch hier die wirtschaftlich günstigsten Gebote aus einer Optimierungsrechnung.

Allerdings stellt eine Optimierung eines individuellen Kraftwerks oder eines gesamten Kraftwerksparkes nicht automatisch die Versorgungssicherheit eines Energieübertragungssystems sicher. Um die Versorgungssicherheit zu jedem Zeitpunkt sicherzustellen, ist es notwendig netzbetriebliche Maßnahmen oder Markteingriffe durchzuführen, um Netzengpässe, Leistungsungleichgewichte oder sonstige netzbetriebliche Probleme jederzeit zu lösen. Zu den oben genannten Mechanismen gehören ebenfalls Redispatch-Eingriffe zur Anpassung der Leistungseinspeisung von Kraftwerken auf Anforderung des Übertragungsnetzbetreibers, um auftretende Netzengpässe zu vermeiden oder zu beseitigen und damit den stabilen Systembetrieb zu gewährleisten.